SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
TfL survey - Going cashless on buses
Mr_Numbers

30-08-2013 10:43 AM

TfL is proposing to entirely remove the option of paying for bus fares by cash in 2014.

There's already a hefty price differential to encourage the use of Oyster cards or contactless card payments, and so now cash is just 1% of journeys, apparently.

They claim they could save £24m a year by going cashless and that they would reinvest that money in the transport network. I'm personally unconvinced by that figure and by the pledge but I'm no expert.

Personally, I worry about the removal of cash as a "payment of last resort". They are suggesting they might allow people to make "one more journey" if there is insufficient credit on their Oyster card, but I can imagine all kinds of situations where that wouldn't be an adequate alternative (eg, wallet lost/stolen, so no payment card or Oyster card).

They are doing a "consultation" - you can take part by clicking here: https://consultations.tfl.gov.uk/buses/cashless

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
lacb

30-08-2013 12:26 PM

The London Transport system is already unfriendly to visitors and this would just make it worse. A recyclable paper magnetic day ticket is required (as in Amsterdam) and lots of machines to sell them. Mind you, even there you can still buy one on the bus.

This post was last modified: 30-08-2013 12:30 PM by lacb.

michael

30-08-2013 12:38 PM

I've responded already and pointed out that the £24m cost of handling cash is less than the £30m amount left on PAYG Oyster cards each year. For this reason the cost of handling cash should be able to be absorbed in the extra revenues from Oyster.

Mr_Numbers