SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
Front Driveways
Jane2

11-03-2013 12:30 PM

I have noticed over the last couple of years that the number of houses paving over their front gardens to make driveways seems to be increasing in this area.

I know that paved driveways put a strain on the sewers and increases the risk of flooding, so there are specific planning rules governing new and replacement driveways, but I wondered how seriously does Lewisham Council take this issue?

http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/permiss...ontgarden/

I have just watched two driveways relaid on my street with tarmac - I am not an expert, but it does not look water permeable to me, and there are definitely no 'rain garden' areas to collect rainwater. Just tarmac all the way from pavement to house.

Not only that, but a lot of these driveways are quite ugly, with no planted areas, just tarmac or slabs all over the front garden.

It makes it harder to park in the street, and often they don't even have a legal crossover laid (ie the dipped bit of kerb next to the road).

What are others opinions on this?

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sherwood

11-03-2013 12:35 PM

If people pave their front gardens it should make it easier to park. Otherwise the person's car/s will be permanently parked in the road.

If they do not have an approved crossover, people may park outside their hardstanding. Sometime the Council puts bollards in the pavement to prevent accessa cross the pavement.

Jane2

11-03-2013 12:45 PM

Having a front driveway actually makes it harder for others to park - for two reasons: