SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
Your views on Adult and Community Education
bruce

30-11-2008 01:46 PM

Hi there

I'm a tutor at CEL (to declare my interest straight away) but I'm writing this in a personal capacity. I wanted to ask for your thoughts on the future of Adult and Community Education, both in and beyond SE23. This is my first post; hope the tone's not too formal or 'campaigny'!

As you may know, Central Government has been redirecting funding from what is called "personal and developmental learning" into employer-led Train to Gain" courses. This has meant the shutting down of lots of adult classes, with more to go over the next two years if current plans are not revised. Train to Gain's problems, including a ?100m underspend, have been well-documented, and the Government is frantically modifying the parameters in the hope of salvaging it.

Meanwhile, the so-called leisure courses that are a route back into education for some, a joy for others and an absolute lifeline for those without much other social contact, are dying out. Not only these, however: the three areas most affected by the cuts (around 1.5 million places lost) are Health and Social Care, Preparation for Working Life and IT. Finally and just as disturbingly, funding for people with learning difficulties and disabilities, and those with pre-Level 1 English and Maths, is frozen for the next few years (which presumably means cuts in real terms).