SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
Farmers' markets in or near SE23?
susand

09-10-2008 04:59 PM

I'm new to SE23 and to the forum and was wondering if anyone could recommend any farmers' markets in the area? I saw in one of the free local papers that there is one at Hilly Fields this coming Saturday - is it worth a visit? Or perhaps the butcher on Wood Vale is a good place to go for good quality fresh meat?

Susan

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Jon Lloyd

09-10-2008 09:48 PM

I went to the Hilly Fields one one and there was only 4 stalls, but I did buy some nice cheese!

Applespider

09-10-2008 09:54 PM

The butcher on Wood Vale is excellent. The queue isn't always the fastest since there's generally a bit of banter going on but the meat is very good.

Should you dare to venture down to East Dulwich, there's another good butcher there and a fine fishmonger.

There's a Farmers Market near Dulwich College but I can't remember which days it on or not. To be honest, with Borough Market, a 15 minute train hop away, I haven't hunted them out too much.

dita-on-tees

10-10-2008 07:37 AM

Wood Vale is excellent and the chap is really helpful, as is the one just off Brockley Rise, in Ewart Road(??) (this one also does frozen fish - monk fish sea bass etc)

The Dulwich Farmers Market was a couple of weeks ago, think it is the last sunday of the month. I think there is also a French Market in Lewisham tomorrow. Agree Borough Market is close by but it is stupidly busy and some of the prices are crazy (and you are not just paying for the quality of the produce) more of an experience than an everyday market.

Happysnapper

10-10-2008 07:58 AM