SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
Working From Home
Ghis

05-02-2008 07:39 PM

Today I was working from home using remote access into the office. It got me thinking as I know a few people on here work from home. If you don't mind me asking, what types of job do you do (even described in vague terms) that allows you to work from home? What are the advantages, disadvantages apart from the obvious (not long commute but less social interaction etc...).

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
billham

08-02-2008 01:15 PM

I work from home a fair percentage of the time. I work in IT development and support which is probably an optimal job for it as I can easily access systems anywhere in the world from my armchair.

The advantages I would see are:

1. No commute. This is definitely the biggest plus particularly on cold winter mornings. Before they shut it, the last office my company had in the UK was in Guildford which is a really handy commute from Forest Hill...three hours return journey at anything approaching a busy time!!

2. No dress code...jeans and a t shirt every day or just stay in your jammies if you feel especially lazy.

3. Always at home for parcels, meter reading etc.

4. Reasonable flexibility with time...no-one clocking you in and out and seeing that you are in the se23 forum.

5. Cheap - no travel cost and make your own lunch. Going to the office probably cost me close to ?20 a day albeit I didn't go in every day whereas staying at home even with the extra heating etc is probably less than a fiver.

Downsides are: