SE23.com - The Official Forum for Forest Hill & Honor Oak, London SE23
Online since 2002   11,000+ members   72,000+ posts

Home | SE23 Topics | Businesses & Services | Wider Topics | Offered/Wanted/Lost/Found | About SE23.com | Advertising | Contact | |
 Armstrong & Co Solicitors

Post Reply  Post Topic 
Research into Household Work and Parenting
AniaP

30-07-2009 02:22 PM

My name is Ania and I am a researcher at the LSE studying outsourcing of traditionally male household tasks and the implications for the use of time within the household. I would like to interview partners with dependent children and a resident father which have used the services of a handyman or a gardener. If you can participate in the research please contact me by email at: a.plomien@LSE.ac.uk or by telephone on 020 7107 5404 or 079 2043 3001. A summary report on the research findings will be made available to all participants.

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
roz

31-07-2009 10:50 PM

Our own use of handymen and gardeners has little to do with the fact that we have a child and are busy people but more to do with the skillbase of both of us! I also wasn't aware that diy and gardening were still regarded as strictly male household tasks- especially gardening. I'd welcome more background information on the research project itself before registering any interest. Again from a personal perspective as a household we are busy learning new diy skills in order to save money - we bought some decent drills etc in order to become more competent;getting assistance from outside is very expensive.

AniaP

01-08-2009 09:02 AM

Dear Roz